HOMEGROWN; A Critical Past

Next date: Saturday, 13 April 2024 | 11:00 AM to 08:00 PM

Kathie-Najar-A-Whisper-of-Hope-2024-watercolour-and-pencil-on-paper.jpg

Exhibition dates: 28 March to 21 April 2024

Exploring how artists respond to the past to inform the future.

A Willoughby City Council group exhibition exploring how artists respond to the past to inform the future. We know the future poses many challenges, but what can we take from the past into the future? Similarly, what should we leave behind to better inform future decision making?

Reality collapse, global tensions, climate change, increased loneliness, social unrest and events that will necessitate migration are but a few current and impending affairs that make our sense of the future seem uncertain. HOMEGROWN; A Critical Past seeks to synthesise what matters to Willoughby City's artists and the role it plays in giving voice to community concerns, with a special perspective of looking at the past to find solutions for the future.

Artists: Geoffrey Adams, Katrina Beissel, Jennifer Brady, Seong Cho, Rena Czaplinska-Archer, Sarah Fitzgerald, Terhi Hakola, Anne Levitch, Alison Locke, Auntie Jeanie Moran, Jennifer Mullen, Kathie Najar, Tym Yee, Fangmin Wu and Sairi Yoshizawa

Image: Kathie Najar, A Whisper of Hope, 2024, watercolour and pencil on paper

The HOMEGROWN series of exhibitions showcases local artists and those with a significant connection to the City of Willoughby.

Catalogue(PDF, 719KB)
Opening Speech(PDF, 511KB)
Room Sheet(PDF, 469KB)

 

When

  • Thursday, 28 March 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 30 March 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Sunday, 31 March 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 03 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 04 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 05 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 06 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Sunday, 07 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 10 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 11 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 12 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 13 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Sunday, 14 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 17 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 18 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 19 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Saturday, 20 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 08:00 PM
  • Sunday, 21 April 2024 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM

Location

Art Space on The Concourse, 409 Victoria Avenue, Chatswood, 2067, View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every 1 week(s) on Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday for 7 times.