Mayor and Councillors


Council is made up of twelve Councillors and the Mayor. The twelve Councillors each represent one of the four wards that make up Willoughby, while the Mayor represents all the wards. Councillors are voted in by the local community every four years to represent them on local public issues.

The last Council elections were held in September 2017. The Mayor was popularly elected by the voters for a three-year term. Councillors elect a Deputy-Mayor annually.

Councillors are not paid for the job that they do; many Councillors have a full-time job on top of being an elected member. However, they do receive an allowance. The allowance amount is determined each year by Councillors, though it must be between the limits set by the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal.

Find your local Councillors