Chasing Magic

Next date: Saturday, 18 May 2024 | 10:00 AM to 04:00 PM

Minka Gillian, “Sculptural Mythologies” (detail), 2023, Acrylic on canvas, 155cm x 5.jpg

Exhibition postponed

After issues faced following this month’s heavy rains, Willoughby City Council has made the difficult decision to postpone exhibitions in its Incinerator Art Space until further notice.

This exhibition will be rescheduled at Art Space on The Concourse. New dates to be announced.

 

For more information see article linked below

Exhibition dates: 8 May to 26 May 2024

A solo exhibition presented by Minka Gillian. 

Chasing Magic delves into the intricate relationship between magical thinking, anxiety, and the pandemic and how unsettling events can trigger superstitious behaviours and belief in the supernatural.

Through sculpture, painting, and installation Gillian examines this phenomenon by harnessing the power of good luck charms, religious symbolism, and the sublime to create a series of paintings and an eclectic shrine with personal relics for visitors to contemplate and make a wish.

Chasing Magic is a reminder of the inevitability of death but also a token of hope, comfort and beauty amid a time of uncertainty.

Image. Minka Gillian, Sculptural Mythologies (detail), 2023, acrylic on canvas

When

  • Wednesday, 08 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 09 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 10 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 11 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 12 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 15 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 16 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 17 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 18 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 19 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 22 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Thursday, 23 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Friday, 24 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Saturday, 25 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 26 May 2024 | 10:00 AM - 04:00 PM

Location

Incinerator Art Space, 2 Small Street Willoughby, Willoughby, 2067, View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every 1 week(s) on Sunday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday for 6 times.