The Guitar in Art and History

Next date: Wednesday, 12 August 2020 | 11:00 AM to 05:00 PM

Richard Watkins, Romantic guitar display, Holy Grail Guitars collection

Exhibition Dates: 12 - 23 August 2020

 

An exhibition of antiquities, documents, artworks and musical instruments presented by Richard Watkins.

Since time immemorial, musicians, artists, their instruments, and their Muses have interacted as creative partners. Whether being deified, lauded, or even sometimes cursed, they have evolved with us through history, transcending darker ages to renaissances and better times. From the humble busker or troubadour to the Gods and Goddesses of the guitar, the guitar, and its ancestors in their myriad of forms, have been the paramount medium for the language and song of the Muse in art and performance. This exhibition draws from antiquities, documents, artworks, and musical instruments from prehistory to the present day in its collection of Holy Grail Guitars.

 

Image: Richard Watkins, 18th and 19th century guitars, average size 90 x 30 x 12 cm

 

When

  • Wednesday, 12 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 13 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 14 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 15 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 16 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Wednesday, 19 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Thursday, 20 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Friday, 21 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 05:00 PM
  • Saturday, 22 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 04:00 PM
  • Sunday, 23 August 2020 | 11:00 AM - 04:00 PM

Location

Art Space on The Concourse, 409 Victoria Avenue, Chatswood 2067  View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.

Occurrence Pattern*(Required)

This event occurs every 1 week(s) on Wednesday, Thursday, Friday for 10 times.