Local Government elections

NSW Local Government elections are generally conducted on the second Saturday of September, every four years and voting is compulsory.  Bi-elections are conducted periodically when a vacancy occurs.

Willoughby City Council has a popularly elected Mayor, together with 12 Councillors across four wards (Sailors Bay, Naremburn, West and Middle Harbour Wards). View the Ward map.

Next general election

A general election for Willoughby will be held on Saturday 14 September 2024 between 8am and 6pm.

On 27 February 2023 Council resolved(PDF, 432KB) that the NSW Electoral Commission will administer the election of Willoughby Council.

All elected members must lodge a declaration listing all political donations received and electoral expenditure incurred. A register of these declarations is available on the NSW Electoral Commission website.

For more information about these elections, please visit the NSW Electoral Commission website or call 1300 135 736.

Electoral roll

Residential roll

When you enrol to vote, you will automatically be included on the residential roll for the ward or council area you live in.

Non-residential roll

If you are not a resident, you may be entitled to vote in the Willoughby Council elections, if you own, occupy or lease property in the Willoughby LGA as a corporation, business or individual. You will have to be registered on Willoughby Council’s non-residential roll. A non-residential roll is only valid for the council election it is prepared for, so you must re-enrol for every election.

You can enrol on the non-residential roll, if you are:

  • an owner of rateable land in the Willoughby LGA; or
  • an occupier or rate-paying lessee of rateable land in the Willoughby LGA.

You will need to fill out the Individual claim form.

If you own, occupy or lease the property with other people, you must nominate who will be voting on behalf of everyone and fill out the nomination claim form.

Forms for inclusion on the non-residential roll are available at Council’s Customer Service Centre, 31 Victor St, Chatswood, by calling 02 9777 1000 or below:

Non-residential form (Individual)(PDF, 339KB)

Non-residential form (Nominee)(PDF, 346KB)

For more information on non-residential enrolment, visit the NSWEC website.

Once you have completed the form, send it to the Chief Executive Officer using any of the below methods:

By hand: 31 Victor Street, Chatswood

By post: PO Box 57 Chatswood 2067

By email: governance.team@willoughby.nsw.gov.au

Registration for inclusion on the non-residential roll for the 2024 Council elections closes at 6pm on Monday 5 August 2024.

For more information on local government elections, visit the NSW Electoral Commission website.

The roll of non-residential owners and the roll of occupiers and ratepaying lessees for the 2024 election is available for public view on request. Please contact governance.team@willoughby.nsw.gov.au if you wish to make an appointment.