2018 Media Releases


16 April 2018

Saturday 16 June, 7pm & Sunday 17 June, 2pm
The Concourse Concert Hall, Chatswood

In the 100th anniversary year of the end of World War I, the Willoughby Symphony presents REMEMBRANCE, a riveting and emotionally charged concert event.

Conducted for the first time in 1938 by Arturo Toscanini, Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings is a work that immediately evokes the most moving and compelling sonic imagery. Full of pathos and cathartic passion, it rarely leaves a dry eye and featured most memorably in Oliver Stone’s Platoon.

The work will be followed by 2018 Composer-in-Residence Nigel Westlake’s powerful opus, The Glass Soldier, which was inspired by the epic story of Nelson Ferguson’s misfortune in war and his ultimate triumph against adversity. The concert will conclude with a performance of the beloved romantic masterpiece, Schumann’s Rhenish Symphony.

In a special addition to the concert, the winning work of the Fine Music 102.5/Willoughby Symphony’s Young Composer Award will be performed in concert for the first time. The Award is a distinguished springboard for a generation of young Australian composers and will be conducted by the exceptional young Australian conductor, Luke Spicer.

Luke Spicer is making his mark as an operatic and symphonic conductor, graduating with a Masters of Conducting from the Sydney Conservatorium and further studies in Freiburg, Manchester and the Fondazione Musicale Chigiana, working under Maestro Guanluigi Gelmetti. Luke was also a participant in the Symphony Services International Conductor Development Program during 2016.

Purchase your tickets now at 1300 795 012 or visit theconcourse.com.au

Media Contact
Acting Marketing and Events Manager
Phone: 9777 7703
Mobile: 0455 061 700
Email: Samantha.Connor@Willoughby.nsw.gov.au 

For non media related enquiries contact Willoughby City Council on 9777 1000 or email@willoughby.nsw.gov.au